top of page

What is a Bartholin Cyst

...and why do they keep coming back


The Cleveland Clinic Defines "A Bartholin cyst develops when a blockage occurs in a Bartholin gland in the vagina. This blockage causes a lump that can cause irritation and pain during walking, sitting, or sex. Bartholin cysts can resolve on their own over time. If it becomes infected, it may need to be treated by a healthcare provider."


Now that you’ve had a rude awakening about what vaginas do, know that I've been struggling with this for the past 10+ years.



Ok But Why


Inflammation may be the key to most of my problems. I have a lot of psychosomatic issues like asthma, stomach and GI tract issues, hypothyroidism, torn ligaments, migraines, and more.


So What Can Be Done


Well, I already had one surgery on my right Labia where several cysts were removed. For the main large cyst, the solution was to make a very small permanent hole so it just always drains. Which is yucky, but also is the most humane solution I guess. Before surgeons used to cauterize the wound.


I'm looking at another side, the left that has been problematic again. I've been saying that it just isn't happening but has emerged thrice since January. I have to be real and face this all over again.


Unfortunately, I have to get a new surgeon. I am anxious about this process.

Reproductive Health Journey

For me: Bartholin cysts have nothing to do with birth control or hormone replacement therapy. They just happen and get worse/ emerge with stressors like anxiety and depression, physical and mental stress as well as other factors. Below are some more Facts


Since this only happens to 2% of women it does seem like the end of the world when it's happening. But I've been through the surgery once before very apprehensively, and I am hoping for good outcomes this time too.


I have a plan, I have an appointment with a Nurse Practitioner in my Gynecology department and we'll go from there. I've just felt so alone in this that I felt that a blog post might open up some eyes and destigmatize this issue.

65 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
lr graphics a designer explains
bottom of page