top of page

My Hair Loss Journey

Specifics About my hair loss journey


Losing my hair at 39 is scary. It isn’t a bald spot, but I’ve lost my baby hairs. I’m shedding a lot. Mostly, I’m impressed that I still have locks, to be honest abouLeave-int it. But here is a frank look at my hair loss journey and what I’m doing to get it back.


Minoxidil is Rogaine for those who don’t know. I found it on Amazon, and I have been spraying it around the crown of my head and in lines from my hairline to the back of my ears. I haven’t seen much growth yet, but my problem is consistency.


My Doctor said we go through cycles every 7 years, and that cycle includes shedding hair. I made a doctor’s appointment with my primary care, and she said this could be a natural cyclical thing. So there may be nothing to do about it except start wearing hats? But she did affirm that what I am doing may bring more blood circulation to the scalp.



Perimenopause and what that looks like. I am approaching my 40s, and that means this little thing called perimenopause. That means that perimenopause is the preview of menopause, my periods are irregular, and my gray hairs are coming in strong. I’m also having insomnia and a hard time regulating my emotions. Maybe crying to Taylor is normal, but I have never been that girl before.


Collegen Hair gummies I have been taking them on the regular and I don’t see a big difference yet. It’s been a few months now, I’m on bottle number two so I should be seeing results by now.


I Tried Spoiled Child, and there was not much of a difference in my skin or hair texture. The collagen drink did taste good but I think it contributed to some abdominal cramping I already had. The scalp spray smelled nice but it didn’t stimulate any new hair growth, iy did appear thicker which was nice.


Back to Dr. Bronner’s and Shea Moisture Products for me. The Peppermint scent of Dr. Bronner’s soap used as my shampoo is what I’m hoping stimulates the roots and scalp. Shea Moisture has always done me right. I’m still using their Castor oil Leave in Conditioner to follow up my shampoo.


Fingers crossed and pray for me, that is if you’re a praying person. I have been looking into Nutrafol, but the price of $80 for one month's supply is a budget killer.


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
lr graphics a designer explains
bottom of page